The William Walker House, the oldest dwelling in Reedville opened as the Reedville Fishermen's Museum in 1988.
Located in the heart of the historic district of Reedville, a working fishing village, was founded in 1874 by Elijah Reed, the museum houses a variety of exhibits showcasing the maritime heritage. The museum is dedicated to preserving the heritage of the maritime history of the lower Chesapeake Bay area and the watermen who have plied their trade here for hundreds of years.
A generous gift from Mr. Frank Covington enabled the Reedville Fishermen's Museum to expand into a new building in 1995. The museum’s docks are home to two National Historic Register vessels, the Elva C and the Claud Somers. Both are used for scheduled open water tours.
The museum’s permanent collection is displayed in the Reed and Frayne Galleries. Temporary exhibits, changing throughout the year, are displayed in the 2003 addition. There is a gift shop located in the Covington Building where guests can enjoy Boat Building and Model Making. These activities support education programs and special events held throughout the year, such as Family Boat Building weekends and the large layout of the HO scale Northern Neck Railroad.
There is always something to see and do for the fishing enthusiasts and their families!